Monday, 12 January 2015

The Cup of Changing Names

Among the changing landscape of the Victorian Soccer Federation assuming control of the game from the Victorian Amateur Soccer Football Association was the inauguration of the Federation Cup in 1962. It was introduced to provide a Cup competition for clubs left out of the Dockerty Cup, which was scaled back to the twelve State League teams and the top two teams from Division One North and Division One South in an increasingly crowded schedule.

The first edition was won by Coburg United, who took the trophy in a replay following an initial draw with Sunshine City. Coburg retained the Cup the next year, this time defeating Makedonia.

The results between 1964 and 1968 are still to be uncovered. Whilst the top of the pyramid was well covered in the media, the lower reaches did not always get their results published. I have searched at the end of seasons and come up with nothing, but have yet to check if any Cups were contested in the pre-season. It is important to note the Dockerty Cup was expanded back to it's traditional format in 1964, so it is possible the Federation Cup was discontinued.

It is known that it was back in action by 1969, when Altona City triumphed over Springvale City after extra time. By 1972 Altona City had claimed the Cup for the third time. They would be joined as multiple winners in the 1970's by Albion Rovers.

In 1979 the Cup seems to have been replaced by the Winfield Cup, a name which would only last a year before being altered to the Metropolitan League Cup. Another name change would follow when the Metropolitan League became the Victorian League in 1985. The most confusing change would come in 1991 when the State League was re-branded as the Victorian Premier League. The Victorian League was in turn renamed the State League, meaning the new State League Cup carried the same name as the competition usually contested as an end of season finals series between the top four teams in the old State League.

Preston Makedonia were thumping 9-0 winners over Sunshine City in the 1973 Final, going on to win again in 1975 and then again in 1995 as Preston Lions. Box Hill dominated in the early 1980's with Lalor United multiple winners in the 1990's before the Cup was discontinued in 1996. It was revived for four editions from 2000 before the drought of 2004 finally killed it off.

Famous Cup heroics include a sixteen year old goalkeeper Jeff Olver taking Albion Rovers to success in 1976 on his way to becoming a Socceroo. Melbourne (Hungaria) had a last great hurrah as a club winning in 1985. Many winners from the 1980's were clubs on their way to stints in the VSL/VPL.

The full list of known Cup Final results is:

2003 Sunshine George Cross 0 Cranbourne Comets 0
Sunshine George Cross won 5-4 on penalties

2002 Westvale 4 (Goutzioulis2, Squillacioti, Gacovski) Springvale White Eagles 2 (Diaco, Styczen)

2001 Westgate 1 (Delic) Cranbourne Comets 0

2000 Stonnington City 2 (Tyrikos, Georgoulis) Sunshine Georgies 1 (Hynds) aet

1996 Preston Lions 4 (Chiodo, Burlak, Tasevski, Emsovski) North Coburg United 1 (Saglam)

1995 Lalor United 5 (Ujgunovski2, Drogriski, Filipovski, Taseski) Essendon Brunswick Royals 1 (Kolar)

1994 South Springvale 1 (Asimakidis) South Dandenong 0

1993 Lalor United (Tasevski2) Box Hill 0

1992 Werribee City 2 (Cidoni, Grillo) Doncaster Rovers 0

1991 Frankston Pines 1 (Johnstone) North Geelong 1 (A.Cervinski)
Frankston Pines won 5-3 on penalties    

1990 Springvale City 2 (Carroll, Kenny) Port Melbourne 1 (T.Rizopoulos)

1989 Western Suburbs 2 (Beattie 2) Eltham/Diamond Valley United 1 (Coyle)

1988 Westgate 1 (Andriotis) Mooroolbark 0

1987 Albion Rovers 1 Bell Park 0

1986 Clifton Hill 1 (Gillan) Hawthorn 1 (Katsogiannis)
Clifton Hill won 4-3 on penalties

1985 Melbourne 2 (Heery, P.Bannon) Keilor Austria 2 (Beller, Santos) aet
Melbourne won 4-2 on penalties

1984 North Dandenong 2 (O'Halloran, McCombe) Sunbury United 2 (Magnano, O.G.) aet
North Dandenong won 4-2 on penalties

1983 Knox City 2 (Lesbirel, Gerrish) Nunawading City 1 (Mullet)

1982 Box Hill 5 (S.Patterson2, Taylor2, Priestly) Dandenong City 1 (Donnelly)

1981 Box Hill 3 (Taylor2, S.Patterson) Polonia 1 (Marshall) aet

1980 Doveton 5 (McDonald2, Quin2, Irvine) Moreland 2 (Lenders, Constantinou)

1979 Collingwood City 3 (G.Batticiotto, G.Bozikas, J.Nicolaides) Keilor Austria 1 (R.Bellar)

1978 Croydon 4 (Lowrey2, M.Brown, Murphy) Moreland 0

1977 Waverley City 2 (Stocca, P.Whitehurst) Melbourne 1 (P.Mihalj)

1976 Albion Rovers 4 (S.Tribuzio2, B.Rae, G.Bentley) Springvale City 1 (J.Gollan)

1975 Preston Makedonia 2 Dandenong City 1

1974 Albion Rovers 2 (Clarke, Pryde) Frankston City 1 (Adams)

1973 Preston Makedonia 9 (Reid4, Temelkovski, Hayward, Jancev2, O.G.)
Sunshine City 0

1972 Altona City 3 Prahran Slava 0

1971 Altona City

1970 Yallourn 1 Frankston 0

1969 Altona City 3 Springvale City 1 aet






1963 Coburg United 4 (Healey2, Loughran, Malcolm) Makedonia 2 (Kuhn, Zemunik)

1962 Coburg United 1 (Young) Sunshine City 1 (Oliver)
        Coburg United 3 (Earley3) Sunshine City 2 (McNeil2)

No comments:

Post a Comment